Show Summary Details
Page of

date: 29 June 2022

p. 396. The Structure of the Scienceslocked

p. 396. The Structure of the Scienceslocked

  • Jonathan Barnes


Aristotle did not share Plato’s belief that all knowledge could be founded upon a single set of axioms. ‘The Structure of the Sciences’ shows that Aristotle divided knowledge into three major classes. The productive sciences are concerned with making things; Aristotle himself had relatively little to say about these. The practical sciences are concerned with how we ought to act in various circumstances, in private and public affairs. The Ethics and the Politics are Aristotle’s chief contributions here. Theoretical knowledge includes everything now considered science, and in Aristotle’s view it contains most of human knowledge. It subdivides into mathematics, natural science, and theology (closer in practice to astronomy).

Access to the complete content on Very Short Introductions online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.