Show Summary Details
Page of

date: 01 July 2022

1. Morelocked

1. Morelocked

  • Jenny Hartley


Charles Dickens’s first two novels—The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club and Oliver Twist—were published in monthly instalments, usually of two or three chapters at a time, beginning in 1836. Charles Dickens was also editing a new monthly magazine, Bentley’s Miscellany, and writing for theatre at this time. He was the talk of the town, his name everywhere. ‘More’ explains how contradiction and opposition fired Dickens’s imagination and were characteristics running throughout his writing. Oliver was a great success with many versions and manifestations. There were numerous translations and the invention of cinema at the end of the 19th century saw film versions, followed by adaptations for television, musicals, and theatre.

Access to the complete content on Very Short Introductions online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.