Show Summary Details

p. 565. The seven ages of sleeplocked

  • Steven W. Lockley
  •  and Russell G. Foster


Sleep patterns change with age. These changes are often difficult to distinguish from changes caused by disorders, and the prevalence of some sleep disorders also change with age, further complicating the matter. ‘The seven ages of sleep’ divides the sleep behaviour of humans into seven phases: sleep during pregnancy, neonatal sleep (from the perspectives of both the baby and the parent), childhood sleep, adolescence and young adulthood sleep, middle age and menopausal sleep, sleep in the elderly, and dementia. Our sleep patterns vary considerably as we go through life. We can even vary in terms of being a morning or a night person as we age.

Access to the complete content on Very Short Introductions online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.