Show Summary Details

p. 192. The two ages

golden and hard-boiledlocked

  • Richard Bradford


‘The two ages: golden and hard-boiled’ begins with the Golden Age of crime fiction that consisted of the work of British writers, Agatha Christie, Marjorie Allingham, Anthony Berkeley, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Michael Innes, and Americans S. S. Van Dine, John Dickson Carr, and Ellery Queen, from 1914 to 1945. The quintessential Golden Age crime novel used the plot-puzzle formula, but its antithesis emerged in America; the new version of crime writing began to claim something from the legacies of the realist novel. The three most celebrated practitioners of what became known as the ‘hard-boiled’ or ‘noir’ brand of detective fiction were Dashiell Hammett, James M. Cain, and Raymond Chandler.

Access to the complete content on Very Short Introductions online requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.